Medical Advisory Board

The Mast Cell Disease Society, Inc. is guided by a board of medical advisors who donate their time and expertise in support of our mission. They have agreed to act as a point of contact for other physicians and health care providers needing additional information about mastocytosis and mast cell activation disorders.


2021-2023 Medical Advisory Board

Cem Akin, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine, University of Michigan, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Ann Arbor, MI

Ivan Alvarez-Twose, MD
Staff Physician and Clinical Coordinatro, Instituto de Estudios de Mastocitosis de Castilla La Mancha (CLMast), Toledo, Spain.
Phone: 0034-615-653-157; Email: ivana@sescam.jccm.es

Marla Barkoff, MD
Endocrinologist, Integrative Endocrinology, Chicago, IL

Patrizia Bonadonna, MD
Allergy and Immunology Clinic, Verona General and University Hospital. Verona, IT.
Email: patrizia.bonadonna@ospedaleuniverona.it; Phone: +390458122556  Fax: +390458122048

Joseph Butterfield, MD
Professor of Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Allergic Diseases; Director, Mayo Clinic Center of Excellence for Mast Cell and Eosinophil Disorders, Rochester, MN.
Email: butterfield.joseph@mayo.edu; Phone: 507-284-9077  Fax: 507-284-0902

Mariana Castells, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Harvard Medical School; Director, Mastocytosis Center of Excellence, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA.
Email: mcastells@partners.org ; Phone: 617-732-9850; Fax: 617-731-2748

Tracy I. George, MD
Professor of Pathology, University of Utah at Salt Lake City; Executive Director, Clinical Trials and PharmaDx, Medical Director, Hematopathology, ARUP Laboratories, Salt Lake City, UT.
Email: tracy.george@aruplab.com;Office: 801-583-2787
*does not see patients directly

Jason Gotlib, MD, MS
Associate Professor of Medicine (Hematology), Director, Stanford Hematology Fellowship Program, Director, MPN Center, Stanford Cancer Institute, Palo Alto, CA.
Email: jason.gotlib@stanford.edu; Phone: 650-725-0744 ; Fax: 650-724-5203

Matthew Hamilton, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Division of Gastroenterology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA.
Email: mjhamilton@partners.org; Phone: 617-732-6389; Fax: 617-566-0338

Mark Heaney, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine at CUMC, Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology, New York, NY.

Olivier Hermine, MD, PhD
Professor of Hematology at Paris V-Rene Descartes University; Chief of Adults Hematology Staff at Hospital Necker, Paris, FR. Email: ohermine@gmail.com; Tel: 33-1-44-49-52-82 (office)

Nicholas Kounis, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine in Cardiology, Department of Medical Sciences, Patras Highest Institute of Education and Technology, Patras, Greece.
Email: ngkounis@otenet.gr; Phone: +302610279579; Fax: +302610279579

Anne Maitland, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine in Allergy and Immunology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai; Medical Director of Comprehensive Allergy & Asthma Care, Tarrytown, NY.
Email: anne.maitland@mssm.edu; Phone: 914-631-3283; Fax: 914-337-8204

Larry Schwartz, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Chair of the Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology, and Program Director of Allergy and Immunology, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA.
Email: lbschwar@vcu.edu; Phone: 804-828-9685  Fax: 804-828-0283

Theoharis Theoharides, MD, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology and Internal Medicine, Director of Molecular Immunopharmacology and Drug Discovery, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA.
Email: Theoharis.Theoharides@tufts.edu; Phone: 617-636-6866  Fax: 617-636-2456

Celalettin Ustun, MD
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology, Oncology and Cell Therapy, Director of Section of Bone Marrow Transplantation, Rush University, Chicago, IL.
Email: celalettin_ustun@rush.edu; Phone: 888-352-7874 (appointment line)

Peter Valent, MD
Professor, Scientific Director of the Ludwig Boltzmann Cluster Oncology; Department of Internal Medicine I at the Medical University of Vienna, Austria; Head of the European Competence Network on Mastocystosis (ECNM), Vienna, AU. 
Email: peter.valent@meduniwien.ac.at ; Phone: +43-1 40400 -5488 or -6086  Fax: +43 1 40400 4030

Srdan Verstovsek, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine in Hematology-Oncology, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX. 
Email: sverstov@mdanderson.org ; Phone: 713-792-7305  Fax: 713-794-4297

 

Honorary
K. Frank Austen, MD
Astra Zeneca Professor of Respiratory and Inflammatory Diseases, Department of Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Boston, MA.

Luis Escribano, MD, PhD
Coordinator, Spanish Network on Mastocytosis (REMA) Associated Research, Servicio de Citometria, Centro de Investigacion del Cancer, Universidad de Salamanca. Salamanca, Spain.

Emergency Room Guide 2021

DOWNLOAD PDF >